Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Current Conditions Icon

Discussion of Ken True's web site templates

Moderator: saratogaWX

Post Reply
rick044
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 15 Dec 2012 11:58 pm
Weather Station: vantage pro 2
Operating System: mac osx
Location: brisbane

Current Conditions Icon

Post by rick044 »

Hello,
the current conditions icon on my site never changes from night clear (icon number 1). I have the Metar set in the settings weather php and there is a meter file in my cache that updates often. What else am I missing to get this current conditions icon to update? I can't see any $iconnumber in my CUtags.php.

Thanks.
User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 1202
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Current Conditions Icon

Post by saratogaWX »

Please post the URL to your website showing the issue.

For Cumulus/CumulusMX, an $iconnumber is not set by the software itself. The CU-defs.php will set it if you have a near-by METAR set, and that station reports cloud/sky conditions (some fully automated stations do not report cloud/sky conditions). The default is for 'partly cloudy' if the METAR does not contain cloud/sky conditions. Your local rain gauge can override it with a Rain icon if it is raining.
broadstairs
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 7:17 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt GW1003/GW1103/GW2000
Operating System: Windows 7 and Linux
Location: Broadstairs, Kent, UK
Contact:

Re: Current Conditions Icon

Post by broadstairs »

I have modified my CU-defs.php to add code to set the $iconnumber where a solar sensor is available. I used to have one with my old VP1 and now with my WS80 I also have solar. So for anyone who might be interested the code is here:-

Code: Select all

if (isset($WX['CurrentSolarMax'])) {  //setup for curent solar condition and icon number
    $lasttip = $WX['MinutesSinceLastRainTip'];
    if ($lasttip >= 40)  {
        if ($isdaylight == 1) {
            $currentsolarpercent = round(($VPsolar/$CurrentSolarMax)*100);
            if ($currentsolarpercent >= 75) { //Sunny
                $iconnumber = 0;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Sunny";
            }
            if (($currentsolarpercent < 75) and ($currentsolarpercent >= 60)) { //Partly Cloudy 
                $iconnumber = 9;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Few Clouds";
            }  
            if (($currentsolarpercent < 60) and ($currentsolarpercent >= 40)) { //Cloudy
                $iconnumber = 36;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Partly Cloudy";
            }    
            if (($currentsolarpercent < 40) and ($currentsolarpercent >= 25)) { //Mainly Cloudy
                $iconnumber = 37;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Mainly Cloudy";
            }
            if (($currentsolarpercent < 25) and ($currentsolarpercent >= 5)) { //Overcast
                $iconnumber = 18;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Overcast";
            } 
            if (($currentsolarpercent < 5) and ($isdaylight == 1)) { //Overcast
                $iconnumber = 18;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Overcast";
            }     
            if (($currentsolarpercent < 5) and ($isdaylight == 0)) { //Night
                $iconnumber = 1;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Night";
            }     
        }
            if ($isdaylight == 0) { //Night time
                $iconnumber = 1;
                $Currentsolarcondition = "Night";
        }
    }
Feel free to use/modify as required.

Stuart
rick044
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 15 Dec 2012 11:58 pm
Weather Station: vantage pro 2
Operating System: mac osx
Location: brisbane

Re: Current Conditions Icon

Post by rick044 »

Thanks all.
I still had the setting of $SITE['WXtags'] set to "test tags.php" I changed it to CUtags.php and it seems to be working now. Posting this for anyone else looking in the future.
Post Reply