Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4021) - 04 May 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Advice sought

Weather station hardware not applicable to any other subforum.
JohnM16
Weather Station: N/A
Operating System: Linux Ubuntu 20.04

Advice sought

Post by JohnM16 »

Hi Folks,

I'm a Newbie, and I'm about to invest in a weather station; I'm planning to use Cumulus software.

If anyone could give me advice on buying one, I'd be most grateful. These are my requirements (which will probably exclude a lot of them):

1. Must record wind speed and temperature. Hours of sunlight would be a useful bonus.

2. Will be mounted (on a barn roof) about 60m from my house with clear line of sight; sensors must be able to communicate with a control system inside the house. Network cable connection would be acceptable, WiFi better, not sure of the limits on distance though.

3. The sensor units must be able to run on a 240V mains supply (or mains stepdown unit), preferably with backup rechargeable battery.

And obviously I'd like it to cost 50 pence... ;-)

Also, and I guess this is a long shot, are there any weather stations that can connect via WiFi/network cable direct to a laptop, and thus avoid the extra cost of a screen?

Thanks for reading,

John
HansR
Weather Station: GW1100 (WS80/WH40)
Operating System: Raspberry OS/Bookworm

Re: Advice sought

Post by HansR »

John,